Continuous learning

Since we’re always asking your learners to blog, I thought I’d share my blogs I’ve been keeping as part of a Moodle training course I’m doing in my ‘spare’ time.

It’s been using the Moodle’s own built in blog, but I like WordPress open to the world better!

Week 1

I really joined the course as much to see how MOOcs work as to fill in any gaps  my Moodle knowledge.  We use it a lot, and while it has grown cabbage-path fashion form a dumping ground for resources to something more interactive it’s been self taught.

Impressed with the user numbers!

So, some new things I discovered last week…

  • The dock -Yay!  down with screen clutter!
  • My Home – new it existed but haven’t really used it – now encouraging my learners to use and modify, they tend to get lost in the menu navigation so a quick jump to the coures they actually enrolled in is useful
  • Attitudes to learning survey – we use similar but this was new.  Might be a bit high level for my learners.
  • Book  activity – is this a new addition, doesn’t appear in my Moodle 2.1 activities list on our own Moodle.  Good way to avoid Scroll of Death.  As is…One section per page
  • Also not in my version!  A must-have, must get onto our admin.
  • Online users – liked the idea of using it in class to check we’re all on same page!
  • Comments block – like the idea of using this ass a bit of a backchannel.  Implemented in the newest course I’ve been putting together now!
  • The tickboxes – haven’t worked out how to implment these yet or if it’s a a new feature, but handy and strangely satisfying!

The Progression list was interesting too

I’d say I’m mostly bordlerline nine just starting to experiment with those features – but seem to have bypassed forumsaltogether, probably because I mostly work with small groups.

  1. Putting up the handouts (Resources, SCORM)
  2. Providing a passive Forum (unfacilitated)
  3. Using Quizzes and Assignments (less management)
  4. Using the Wiki, Glossary and Database tools (interactive content)
  5. Facilitate discussions in Forums, asking questions, guiding
  6. Combining activities into sequences, where results feed later activities
  7. Introduce external activities and games (internet resources)
  8. Using the Survey module to study and reflect on course activity
  9. Using peer-review modules like Workshop, giving students more control over grading and even structuring the course in some ways
  10. Conducting active research on oneself, sharing ideas in a community of peers

Week 2

So week two done.thoughts in no especial order…

I liked the “reflect questions” – have started using those with my learners

I liked the webcast summary of the previous week -it encourages keeping up and makes it feel “live”, as do the questions being answered there and then from the backchannels. 

I find myself using this blog as a note taking device when spotting new features I haven”t used before.

The file management side of things I haven’t gone into before – using server files and recent files has already made my course set up a bit more efficient! 

Want to investigate filters further.

Got caught, as I have lots of times before by ending up with wiki pages named “first page” !

COLLES survey was interesting but perhaps a bit highbrow.  Anyone using it with learners less used to reflecting on their practice?

This entry was posted in Examples. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

