First Day

Hello! My name is Rhys.

This is my first day at Swansea Itec as part of the apprenticeship program. The first thing I have learned is that I should have attended my work place before coming here in the morning. Now I know!

I am 22 years old and drive my own vehicle. My license is so far, clean. I enjoy football and although I do follow the Swans, I am a fan of Portsmouth Football Club. Even though they are in the bottom division I still support them religiously. My hobbies include gaming, reading, watching television and sport.

I am currently an apprentice at AB Glass, where I am an Estimator. So far I have enjoyed my time there, although there are some days where I get stressed. I dislike not knowing what to do, but I’m slowly getting used to the fact that I am there to learn and am not expected to do everything myself. I am not a morning person and so far, waking up at 6:45 every morning in preparation for work is proving difficult. However, I have been at least 10 minutes early every day.

Today I completed some tasks to get an understanding of my skills regarding Microsoft Word, Excel and PowerPoint. I felt I did quite well but struggled with PowerPoint. It has been a few years since I used PowerPoint last. I look forward to seeing my results.

I have looked over briefly what the apprenticeship will include and I look forward to challenging myself. There seems to be a lot of work that needs to go into it. There are several projects that I will need to complete, but I feel I can get through them with the right amount of effort. I may struggle due to the lack of PowerPoint at home, but there are ways around this using Word.

Stay Classy Swansea Itec!

This entry was posted in Current Learners. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Day

  1. Leia says:

    As a ‘Powerpoint workaround’ you might also want to consider OpenOffice – the Present tool in that is fairly similar.

Leave a Reply

