Sentence structures

Yesterday we learnt about three different sentence structures: simple, compound, and complex. A simple sentence consists of a single independent clause, with a subject and one verb, such as “I am Jack.” The subject of a clause is the thing that is doing something, in this case “Jack.” The rest of the clause is the predicate, here “I am”, which contains the verb.

A compound sentence consists of two or more main clauses joined with a connective, or conjunction. An example of this is “I am Jack and I live in Bishopston.” The conjunction used here is “and”.

The third type of sentence – the complex sentence – joins a main clause to a subordinate clause with a conjunction. A subordinate clause is one that does not make sense without the relevant main clause. The sentence “I live in Bishopston where I went to school” is complex, with “I live in Bishopston” as the main clause and “I went to school” as the subordinate clause, following the conjunction “where”.

This entry was posted in Current Learners. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

