Gamification

maxresdefault
level-up

The Ted talk with Jane McGonigal about Games and how we can utilize Gamers to fix world wide problems such as famine with solutions that we come up with in game. Jane basically outlined the fact that some of the best solutions to problems can come from gamers, due to the many hours they spend problem solving in game. Here is a link to Jane’s Ted Talk.

Gamification is essentially playing a game with real life. You take the aspects that you love of games, (point scoring, monster slaying etc.) and you bundle it into an app or a webpage that keeps track of, for example, your household chores. Every time you do a chore, depending on how hard you’ve ranked it, you get a certain amount of XP or Gold, which you can spend on whatever the app allows you to.

As a group, we looked at SuperBetter, Epicwin, Level me up!, Habitica, Class Craft and Chores Wars. I personally think that Class Craft was the better of them all, whereas Habitica comes in at a very close second. I believe that Class Craft is better than Habitica due to the fact that there is no allowances to cheat, as it is marked by the Tutor, not us.

Currently, and I won’t bother defending myself saying that my system works because it just doesn’t, at least, not very well, I just leave it go until the very end of it’s deadline, then make it a priority and get it done.

When it comes down to it, I’ll certainly give Gamification a try. I’m not expecting it to be as good as playing a real game, nothing will be as good as playing the real thing, however adding game aspects to real life may be what I need to motivate myself to get things done.

This entry was posted in Current Learners. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

