My Intro!

Hi there, and welcome to my blog!

This is a blog to show my learning and progression since leaving school, up until the point I am today, which, is getting an IT Apprenticeship with my local government (Bridgend) and Swansea ITEC as my learning provider and my goals for the future.

First, here’s a little background about me, I grew up in Maesteg and attended Maesteg Comprehensive School through from Year 7-11 then stayed on for Sixth Form for an extra two years to achieve my A Levels.

I have always had an interest in IT, for as long as I can remember I have been fascinated by IT and enjoy using, creating and understanding why IT works the way it does. I have done many things I am proud of, especially being that all I learnt about IT was self taught. This includes building my own computer, starting up a local IT Services and Repairs business and making promotional videos and posters for the South Wales Scorpions Rugby Team through the use of Adobe Photoshop and Sony Vegas.

After Sixth Form, I went to Swansea University to study Computer Science. But, the course wasn’t as I thought it was going to be, it was too much classroom and maths theory, and not enough hands on learning IT. I then dropped out of University after the first year and went hunting for an IT Apprenticeship.

After many applications and interviews, I finally got an IT Apprenticeship, one I really enjoy and know my IT Skills and experience are increasing by the day. I am currently on a three year apprenticeship with my local government, with the hope of becoming a Support or Systems Engineer after I am qualified. The main thing from this, is that I go to work everyday doing something I love and getting paid well for it.

This entry was posted in Current Learners. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

