This is an introductory post.

My name is Liam and I am an apprentice starting college. I’ve already been to college once, and the only difference I feel between college and sixth form is that the lecturers try to get more work done in an hour. Like time is a more precious commodity. I don’t have any real work experience because I’ve been told for a long time that I must go to university, which was fine I guess. It’s like burning money you don’t own; if you look beyond the fire, there’s not much else other than £150 rents to sleep in what someone would call in their house a “spare room”.

Previous experience with computers is just general experience. I’d build computers, and have some level of interest in them, but I never thought I’d be doing anything in IT. Doing Computer Science at University was a no-go: I didn’t do a Maths A-Level. The prerequisites to take this as a career in any form other than a merit-based IT apprenticeship were non existent.

I mainly work on the ticketing system right now. Here’s the problem with the team I work with in my apprenticeship, everything I could do I need to be taught to do. There’s not enough free time with any of the other team members, and I have no development experience, but I’m learning quick. Partly because I feel I need to, a level of lack of self-confidence, but I hope its due to my feeling I should be really helping out. I just like to help.

What do I want to gain? No idea. I used to plan my life out, but as soon as that course hit a pothole, I’d jump out the drivers seat and roll away from that path. I’m a meticulous planner, and the problem is that when things don’t go the way I have replayed in my head many times, I struggle to react. There’s a lot of things I can do at the end of this apprenticeship, but the over arching question when considering all of them are “do they really matter? do they make a difference in a meaningful way?”. I shouldn’t be thinking that way, only warlords and political campaigners have that kind of self-righteous outlook that they can only change the world in their own design, but it’s the start to having aspirations.

This entry was posted in Current Learners. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

