Start of Level 4

I have just started my Level 4 course with Swansea iTeC (i have previously completed levels 2 and 3 here). This is my 2nd program whilst working for SwanCD Computers, having completed my Level 3 here when I started my employment with them in 2013.

I started working in IT in 2012, when I began working in a call centre, providing IT support for approximately 100 users as part of a 2 man team.

In 2013 I moved to SwanCD Computers to begin my level 3 course and to also take a new job role. I now do a lot more work with external companies and also with home users and business users. I help to fix all kinds of issues from basic tutoring with users who cannot use their devices, to helping move entire networks when a business is relocating.

I hope to stay within similar roles in IT (hands on repairs), however I would like to expand my knowledge so I am able to work with more devices and do more complex jobs.

I am on the Level 4 course primarily to gain extra knowledge and experience with servers (setting up, troubleshooting, maintaining etc), as this will help me greatly within my current job role and any I wish to progress onto in the future. I also am hoping to becoming a leader / manager in my current workplace, so the project management will help me greatly.

So far on the new course, I have been studying network protocols. I have very little experience with them apart from the day to day protocols (such as https) and I have also used the mail protocols a lot in my workplace (pop, imap, smtp) but I have never known how they actually work, so it is good to find out what is happening behind the scenes and why they do what they do.

 

This entry was posted in Current Learners. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

